Healthy Kids    

The ACOP Honors local doctor

Congratulations to Dr. Goldstein of Monroe Pediatric Associates

ACOP local doctor dr jamee goldstein monroe pediatric associates
The American College of Osteopathic Pediatricians (ACOP) awarded the 2016 Harold H. Finkel, DO and Arnold Melnick, DO Community Pediatrican of the Year Award to Jamee Goldstein, DO, FACOP.

The College, meeting in Phoenix, Arizona, for its annual spring scientific conference presented the award at their Saturday evening award celebration on April 16, 2016.

Dr. Goldstein was chosen for this award for her unstinting loyalty to pediatrics, to the ACOP and for her exceptional care of children and commitment to teaching.

Dr. Goldstein is a graduate of Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine and she completed her pediatric training at Infant's and Children's Hospital of Brooklyn Maimonides Medical Center in Brooklyn, NY.

She is an active member of the ACOP CME Committee and has been selected as program co-chair for the ACOP 2017 Spring Conference.

Dr. Goldstein is a general pediatrician at Monroe Pediatrics Associates, P.C. and supervises medical students from New York Medical School and Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine and pre-med students from West Point Military Academy.

The Harold H. Finkel, DO award was established in memory of Dr. Finkel whose illustrious career spanned over 50 years of community pediatric practice. He was known for his exceptional care and availability to his patients, his commitment to students, interns, residents, addressing community child health needs, advocating for the most vulnerable children and service to the ACOP.

We honor his memory by recognizing colleagues through this award who have embraced those values and by their actions have distinguished themselves in their community and served our profession with distinction.

In 2013, the ACOP, with the blessing from Dr. Finkel's family, added Arnold Melnick, DO to the name of the award.

Dr. Melnick, who serves as Emeritus Editor of PULSE, has served the ACOP in many capacities since 1946. Both are Past Presidents of the ACOP. Close personal friends, they collaborated for years on many ACOP activities, and this award memorializes their friendship and partnership.

The ACOP is the official osteopathic pediatric specialty college of the American Osteopathic Association. The College serves 650 osteopathic pediatricians and 1,800 osteopathic medical school students through continuing medical education opportunities, government relations and mentoring.

The ACOP's government relations and advocacy efforts represent the interests of osteopathic pediatricians, as well as in coalition with other organizations that focus on children's welfare. For more information call 804-565-6333 or visit the ACOP online.