K-12     After School    

13 spine-tingling tales for kids who love scary stories



These books are perfect for your middle-schooler

13 spine-tingling tales for kids who love scary stories


ThriftBooks.com, the world’s largest independent seller of secondhand books, has been providing high-quality, affordable books in the community for more than 20 years.  With hundreds of categories, there are used books for everyone!

As part of its ongoing celebration of the spooky season, ThriftBooks is featuring books for kids who enjoy stories about dark magic and otherworldly creatures. If your young reader relishes hair-raising yarns, ghost stories, and thrilling paranormal mysteries, below are thirteen eerie middle-grade reads to set the mood of the season. 


Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls by Kaela Rivera 

Living in the remote town of Tierra del Sol is dangerous, especially during the season when powerful spirits called criaturas roam the desert threatening humankind. When Cece's older sister, Juana, is kidnapped by a powerful dark criatura, Cece sets out on a perilous mission to bring Juana back. 





Georgia, 1922: On the night that a cruel act took her home and father from her, 
Ophie learned she could see ghosts. Now, living with relatives and working as maids in an old manor, Ophie and her mother are trying to get back on their feet. But things get complicated when Ophie meets a ghost who met an untimely end. 




Wait Till Helen Comes by Mary Downing Hahn 

Tensions rise in a newly blended family when the malicious younger stepsister to Molly and Michael claims that she has been talking to a ghost, Helen, who is coming for them. It seems as if things can't get any worse. But they do—when Helen comes. This creepy classic is also now available as a graphic novel. 


 

 

Séance Tea Party by Reimena Yee

Growing up seems terrible to Lora. Nobody has time to do anything fun anymore. As her circle of friends seem to fade away, Lora struggles to have fun on her own. During a tea party with a twist, Lora connects with Alexa, the ghost that haunts her house and the two become fast friends. But nothing can last forever.

 


Living Ghosts and Mischievous Monsters: Chilling American Indian Stories by Dan Sasuweh Jones 

Dark figures in the night. An owl's cry on the wind. Monsters watching from the edge of the wood. Some of the creatures in these pages might only have a message for you, but others are the stuff of nightmares. The author, a member of Ponca Nation, celebrates the American Indian tradition of ghost stories.  


WANT MORE SPOOKY STORIES? Visit your local library


Root Magic by Eden Royce 

Twins Jez and Jay have always been fascinated by rootwork, the African American folk magic that has been the legacy of their family for generations. And now their uncle is training them in the practice of it. And it's not a moment too soon, as evil forces crop up in their small South Carolina town. 




The Ghost of Midnight Lake by Lucy Strange 

It's 1899. The Earl of Gosswater has died, and twelve-year-old Agatha has been cast out of her ancestral home by her cruel cousin. As she struggles to adjust to her new life and a father she's never known, she comes face to face with the restless spirit of another young girl who may hold the key to Aggie's true identity. 


Long Lost by Jacqueline West 

When her family moves to be closer to her sister's figure skating club, Fiona is isolated and lonely. In her new town's library, she finds a mysterious book that blurs the line between fiction and reality. As Fiona uncovers the book's strange history, she finds that both help and danger come from unexpected places. 


Be Wary of the Silent Woods by Svetlana Chmakova 

In the Night Realm, vampires, shifters, weirns, and werewolves pass for human and roam the streets . . . but they still have to go to school. The Golden Compass meets Stranger Things in this fun graphic novel about supernatural kiddos living life and solving mysteries along the way.  




The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf 

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Jumbies and Furthermore. Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit, a spirit to serve her. But Suraya doesn't realize that pelesits have a dark side—until it's too late. 




The In-Between by Rebecca Ansari 

Ever since his father left their family three years ago, Cooper has been lost. So he welcomes the distraction of a hundred-year-old mystery surrounding a deadly train crash and a missing boy. As Cooper and his sister investigate, they uncover impossible coincidences between the disaster and the creepy girl next door. 



The Clackity by Lora Senf 

Evie lives in Blight Harbor—the seventh-most haunted town in America—with her Aunt Desdemona, the local paranormal expert. Des doesn't have many rules except one: Stay out of the abandoned slaughterhouse at the edge of town. But when her aunt disappears into the building, Evie goes searching for her. 




Hide and Seeker by Daka Hermon 

Justin's best friend Zee went missing for a year. And when he comes back, he won't talk about where he's been. At Zee's welcome home party, they play Hide and Seek. But it goes wrong. Very wrong. One by one, Justin and his friends are pulled into the horrifying place where Zee was trapped. 




If you know a young reader who can't get enough of spooky tales about ghosts, witches, and monsters, these freaky reads may be just the thing—especially as Halloween approaches. 

You can follow ThriftBooks.com on FacebookTwitter, or Instagram for daily book recommendations, literary tidbits, and more.


Other articles by HVP News Reporters


  • Safety tips to follow when using gas or charcoal grills

    Following safety procedures when grilling can reduce injury and save lives

    Memorial Day marks the beginning of summer for many New Yorkers, and with it, the start of the grilling season. As New Yorkers get ready to fire up their grills this Memorial Day weekend, the New York State Division of Consumer Protection (DCP) reminds consumers to consider some important safety tips for safe summer barbecues. read more »
  • Tips to help avoid moving scams

    Be aware of deceptive business practices

    For this week’s “Tuesday’s Tips,” the New York Department of State’s Division of Consumer Protection provides consumers with important tips to avoid scams when moving. Moving your belongings can be a stressful process, and unfortunately scammers use these situations to defraud consumers out of thousands of dollars by using deceptive business practices. read more »
  • 4 things parents and youth athletes should know about concussions

    Every person and every concussion is different

    Despite the attention drawn to the topic of concussions over the past decade, it can be difficult to find readily available answers about what parents and young athletes should do after sustaining a concussion. read more »
  • How to keep feet and ankles in tip top shape this summer

    Experts offer tips for you and your family

    Summer fun and chores alike come with potential hazards to feet. According to the American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons, here’s how to protect feet and ankles from the most common seasonal hazards. read more »
  • Confused by nutrition labels? You’re not alone

    How to read the packaging on your groceries

    Shopping for groceries can be like navigating a maze: so many choices in every aisle, food packages covered in marketing claims, and little direction on what is truly healthy and what isn’t. People want to make healthy choices for themselves and their families, but how can they when the information available to them can be so overwhelming? read more »
  • Thoughtful gift ideas for Mother's Day

    Make your mom smile on her special day

    To show your mom just how much she means to you, choose a Mother’s Day gift that reflects her interests and passions. As you’re looking for the perfect gift, consider these thoughtful ideas that will touch her heart. read more »
  • How high-speed internet can help spark community vitality

    Let's get internet everywhere

    Most Americans consider high-speed internet an essential household service. Yet in rural America, an estimated 25% of the population doesn’t have broadband access, limiting their economic growth and access to career opportunities and resources such as education and health care. read more »
  • Girls on the Run launches new curriculum

    Meeting the needs of today's girls

    Girls on the Run International (GOTRI), a nationally recognized nonprofit that empowers young girls, has launched its new research-based curriculum intentionally designed to meet the needs of today's girls. Entitled Hello, Superstar!, the innovative curriculum helps girls build the confidence to be themselves through meaningful and engaging lessons and activities that keep them moving. read more »
  • From awareness to action: Learning.com's commitment to supporting healthy relationships with technology for kids

    Learning.com shares resources aimed at creating positive digital experiences for children

    As the world observes Mental Health Awareness Month this May, Learning.com, a leading provider of digital literacy solutions, is taking proactive steps to address a pressing issue: the need for young learners to develop healthy relationships with technology. Recognizing that banning technology isn't the solution, Learning.com is engaging educators and parents in the conversation and providing free tools and resources during the month of May aimed at supporting the creation of positive digital experiences for children. Through an informative webinar with experts in the field on May 21, Learning.com will foster discussions that aim to help students build healthy relationships with technology. read more »
  • 4 trends showing mental health is a continued challenge for Americans

    People with outward appearances of success, productivity and happiness often still deal with internal struggles. Mental health challenges continue to affect Americans, with nearly 3 of 4 (73%) U.S. adults reporting struggles with mental health in 2023. read more »